The Invisible Hierarchy

I thought the social hierarchy game disappeared after high school, but in retrospect I can see so clearly that it hasn’t gone away, the game has only leveled up- new world, same game. I don’t know if I was just immune to it, or if I was subconsciously choosing not to see it, but I never really noticed it until after college. I never felt inferior, I did not see my lack of privilege, and I’m not sure why but I have some theories (which I’m not attached to).

One theory is that before this was brought to my attention, my mind was untainted by the possibility of my being inferior, and if our reality is a reflection of our thoughts and beliefs, then that will be our experience.  Before I became exposed to the concept, my experience was abundant. But the chances of living a life where you don’t come into contact with an experience that causes you to entertain this concept of inequality are very slim. Maybe I just hadn’t lived long enough, maybe I was lucky enough to have grown in a bubble environment where it wasn’t an issue, maybe it was there all along and I was too naive to notice it.

If once we become aware of something, then it exists, then before we are aware of it, it does not exist. “Quantum physics informs us that a system exists in superposition — that is, in all possible states — until we observe that it is only in one specific state.” This makes me wish I could tune back into the perspective of “life is good and abundant” frequency I was in as a child, but unfortunately I think that would take lots of hypnosis to change the deeply engrained beliefs of my current frequency. Plus it’s probably more useful to be in tune with the frequency and beliefs and reality of the collective if I wish to successfully coexist and change the world.

Another theory is that I was a big fish in a small pond up until college. When I got to college I started experiencing the world as a little fish in a big sea full of sharks. I also got to see more types of people and the different resources everyone had to start this rat race, and I think this is when it hit me. The race got much grander after high school, and the differences in resources people had to aid them became more noticeable and significant.

Regardless, I can’t help but see the rat race now and be affected by it, despite my efforts to resist it because “I know better” and “I should know where real value and success lies.” Even though I do know better, I unfortunately don’t live in the reality and frequency where this isn’t real and doesn’t have implications on everything around us. I observe and experience how the privileged and elite live in this world, and vice versa. As much as we want to tell our children “looks and money don’t matter,” they do. We listen to beautiful people more, we judge them more positively, why? I don’t know, could be nature or nurture. Rich people are influential because they have resources, resources mean power. In this digital age, lots of followers equals social status and power. Whether they’re aware of it or not, people instinctually respond differently to people they perceive as higher and lower.

What solidifies the realness of this classism is the everyday divisions. People will text back faster to the famous actor than the guy who works at the movie theater. A woman with a Mercedes might not find a man a good enough suitor if he does not have a car of equal caliber or better. A man at the bar might now give you the time of day unless he sees you’re wearing something trendy or expensive looking or give indication of a worthy occupation. People tend to make friends with people they perceive as equal or higher- it’s in the psych books. The one that bothers me the most is people feeling superior when you’re vulnerable and authentic. When they see your vulnerabilities, they see you as a real person with struggles, not strong and high and mighty.

Unless you meet someone in an environment where the classism is not present or someone is consciously choosing to see through “woke” eyes, then most people will subconsciously act according to the invisible hierarchy. So cherish those who will love you, stick with you no matter what you wear, where you work, how talented you are, or how many followers you have.  And don’t compromise yourself to move up, the ladder is an illusion for control. Everyone is loved the same, everyone is worthy. We must remember. They keys are to determine the real motives for what you do and finding balance between being ambitious for social status reasons and for yourself.

Leave a Reply

